There’s several things you’ll need to do with every order, and all the tools you need are in the order-detail view.
Status: By default all new orders will have a status of ‘On hold’. This is because customers may or may not ever actually ship their products to you.
When you receive their product, you can optionally change the status to ‘Processing’. That will update the order status and send an email to the customer letting them know you’re working on their order. I don’t recommend changing the order status until you’ve verified the products received. If any changes are needed to the order line items, you can only do that while the order is in the ‘On hold’ status.
When you’ve paid the order and are ready to close out the order, change the status to ‘Completed’. That will close out the order and send an email to the customer letting them know it is completed.
Order Actions: There are several actions you can perform on an order.
- Send “Order Created” Email: This will re-send the original email to the customer. Handy if they’ve lost the link to print the packing slip or for whatever reason need to get another copy of that email.
- Send “Order Received” Email: This is the same email as what is triggered when you change the status to ‘Processing’ as detailed above. It just lets the customer know you’ve received their items and are working on their order.
- Send “Order Completed” Email: This is the same email as what is triggered when you change the status to ‘Completed’ as detailed above.
- Send “Payment Pending Customer Approval” Email [Only if Customer Approval Required is enabled]. This will send an email to the customer letting them know their order needs to be approved before payment is sent. This is only used on buyback sites where changes to orders are common and/or if there are very large orders and the customer needs to approve the changes to the order before it is finalized.
Edit Order Line Items: You can click the small pencil icon to change any of the details on an order line item. If the product is not in the same condition as promised, you can adjust the price and quantity as you see fit. To make this option available, the order must be in the original ‘On hold’ status.
Add note: You can add ‘Private notes’ or ‘Notes to the customer’ in the notes area on the right-hand side. Very handy for recording payment details, and explaining any changes to the order that may have been necessary.